I decided that I’m now going to stop trying to surprise Sergio.  Nothing gets past him.  Even when he doesn’t have a clue, he somehow ends up finding out on accident.  Let me show you what I’m talking about.

His 18th birthday.  First birthday I spent with him.  We had just watched Garden State and he was obsessed with it, so I thought it would be nice to buy him the DVD as well as the soundtrack.  I didn’t mention anything other than the fact that I bought him a present and in the wide world of products and merchandise, he pin pointed exactly what I bought him.  He said he had a hunch.

Christmas ’05.  I was so excited that year.  I saved up enough money to buy him two lego sets.  It was my first big purchase for him since it set me back about $120.  I was very careful not to leave any clues around and just when he saw the wrapped boxes, he guessed that I bought him legos.  And I didn’t even shake it!

Valentine Day ’07.  I decided that we were finally going to have a real Valentine day with the chocolates and all.  But this time, I was going to attempt to make truffles since I had just found a recipe on allrecipes.com.  I was so anxious to tell someone about my gift idea, so I had to text it to my sister (who lives across the country).  Unfortunately, I was so used to texting Sergio that I didn’t bother to look at what my fingers were pressing and ended up sending a text that read, “I’m so excited.  I’m going to make Sergio truffles for Valentine Day!  Shhh.” to who else but Sergio.  I was picking him up to go to school that day and as he was getting into the car, he had a huge smile on his face and said, “So you’re going to make me truffles?” 

His 21st Birthday.  It hasn’t even happened yet and already he’s found out his present.  This, I will blame on Gmail.  So I was at his house yesterday checking my email and the internet gave out because of all the rain so I didn’t get a chance to log out of my account.  And for those of you who have gmail, you know that it will stay on your account unless you take the extra 2 seconds to click ‘Log Out’ yourself.  I didn’t think much of it since I didn’t have anything special there.  So I went home and thought about the perfect gift for Sergio’s 21st birthday.  I logged onto Ticketmaster and found two tickets that were decently priced for Wicked and bought them.  Naturally, when you buy just about anything online, they send you an order confirmation to…that’s right.  Your email. 

When I saw Sergio this morning, I decided that since the play was just 3 weeks away, I should tell him now so he can request that night off and just as I spoke the words, “So I got you a birthday present…” he interupts me and says, “Wicked?” 

And that is the end of me trying to surprise Sergio because he’s not even trying and he’s finding out the surprises.  I now know why he never gets them. 

I’m not mad or disappointed, I just thought it was funny how my luck with this always turns out.  And it made me feel a little bit better that he felt bad about the Wicked thing because he knew I was trying to surprise him with that one.  Oh well.

