I’ve never been so motivated to learn to make clothes.  I think a major factor in that was the internship I had at the showroom and how I felt like maybe I wasn’t dressing nice enough or that I didn’t really have a unique look that set me apart from others.  I don’t think I dress terribly, but I do think there is a lot of room for improvement.  So I looked online and at stores for clothing that I might wants and lo and behold…I couldn’t afford them.  Big surprise.  I decided this past week that I was no longer going to waste money on pieces that I could for sure make myself and spend money on things I can’t make like shoes or harder to construct pieces.

I’m hoping that after my dad finishes crunch time at work, he’ll have some time to help me cut some patterns and sew a few skirts for myself.  I can’t wait.  I’m hoping that for at least 75% of my Spring and Summer, I won’t be wearing pants, but instead, lots of dresses and skirts.

