I just woke up from an hour nap–it’s been a while since I’ve indulged in an afternoon nap.  But I’m so glad to be back after a short blogging vacation.  My sister is in town so it’s been hard to keep track of the blog and I haven’t really been able to make anything new since we’ve been so busy catching up (it’s different when you see someone in person as opposed to the phone).

I went to the movies twice this week and saw I Am Legend (for the second time) and National Treasure:  The Book of Secretsrespectively.  If you’re looking for some entertaining movies, then I recommend those two.  I won’t say that they’re the deepest, well thought out, oscar worthy movies, but they’re definitely very entertaining.

My family hosted two parties back to back, one for my sister’s friends on the 23rd and one for our family on the 24th.  Those two days were extremely hectic and we all had very little sleep.  Although I’d have to say that the 23rd was exceptional because we went paint-balling before preparing for the party.  Nothing like getting paint filled pellets flung at you at pretty high velocities to bring a family together.  It was my first time and I walked away with about four bruises.  That was about 10 less than I expected, so there’s some good news!

The food on both nights were so amazingly delicious.  I wish I took some pictures because it was both impressive on the eyes as well as the tongue.  I know the holiday season is almost over, but if you’re looking for a quick but surprisingly delicious appetizer to make, I definitely recommend Tomato-Mozzarella Basil Bites.

Tomato-Mozzarella Basil Bites

Serves approximately 12 people

Ingredients:

6 Small Tomatoes (or 4 Medium Sized)

8 oz Mozzarella Cheese

Fresh Basil Leaves

Crushed Sea Salt

Directions:

  1. Slice tomatoes about 1/4 to 1/3 of an inch horizontally (so that they look circular).
  2. Slice cheese approximately the same amount of thickness and size as the tomato.
  3. Top with a basil leaf, sprinkle some salt and insert a toothpick for easy eating.
  4. Enjoy!
